Biblical Health

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (New American Standard Bible)

19Or (A)do you not know that (B)your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that (C)you are not your own? 20For (D)you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in (E)your body.

I searched and searched for a verse or passage in the Bible that would help me to write this blog and came up short. I quickly realized that there are no specific verses pertaining to “biblical health.” At least none that I could find. Any biblical scholars that know of them that would like to share, I gladly welcome it. I started with the verse above because I feel like most of us would refer directly to it when speaking of how we should care for ourselves. But when I looked at the context of the verse, it is really referring to physical purity (which is a whole other topic to share later!) In fact, the majority of the scripture I found when I searched for “biblical health,” when looked at in context had to do with physical purity.

So how do I communicate the importance of caring for ones body?

Well, let me start with this, I don’t want you to think I have an agenda when you read this at the end of my blog, so I’ll come out with it now. I am currently selling vitamins and health supplements through a company called BodyWise . It is a company committed and passionate about the health and futures of it’s customers. I can tell you that because of two reasons. One, the woman who introduced me to BodyWise has been selling the product for 14 years and if you get her started, she can not stop talking about it. She has not only been selling it, but has been using it. She went off of it for a brief period of time and felt pretty horrible. She’s got a pretty awesome BodyWise story. Second, the man I spoke with once I signed up was on fire! He’s been with the company for 20 years and is extremely passionate about being healthy. We spoke for a good hour and a half… well he did most of the speaking, I just added a few “uh huhs” and “yeahs” so that he knew I was still listening. 🙂 I am not fully educated on all of the products but I have learned from enough of the stories that this stuff works. It’s not just another get skinny quick scheme or s product that is pumping your body full of crazy yucky stuff that you can’t pronounce. This is a product that helps to balance your body out and gives you more energy because you genuinely feel better.

Some of my favorite stories have been from the people who have suffered from MS and are not cured, but are able to make it through their day without experiencing the symptoms. The women who suffer from migraines that now have the correct hormonal balance and are no longer afraid of being stuck to their couch because of the pain. And just feeling better on a consistent day to day basis.

So here is the point, I’m not doing this for the sole purpose of making money (it’s one of the reasons, I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t) but I want to learn to care for the body the God has blessed me with. I want the people around me to care just as much. I want our children to start off on the right foot and get used to taking the vitamins that are so important for their little bodies. I want my friends to stop experiencing  debilitating migraines, I want my husband to stop getting sick so much. I want to be healthy!

All this to say; we have a wonderful opportunity to change patterns in our lives and start making good choices. Even if there is not a piece of scripture I can point out, I know that God wants us to be well. How else are we going to spread the Gospel to others if we can’t get out of bed?!

Follow the link to learn more about what you can do to take the first step to feeling better, and when you’re ready, call me up, or email me and let’s get you started.

I’m committed to your health… Are you?

 

Leave a Reply

